We Shall Not Sleep

1918, and whilst an end to the war draws ever nearer, Britain’s future is far from certain…

We Shall Not Sleep is the powerful, tragic, final novel in Anne Perry’s World War I quintet. Perfect for fans of Pat Barker and Sebastian Barry.

‘Perry creates a meticulously detailed backdrop, whether [on the] home front or [the] front lines, while leaving plenty of room for her characters to contemplate issues of honour, loyalty, and love’ – Booklist

The war is coming to a close. Joseph Reavley’s regiment has suffered huge losses but all live in hope that peace will soon be upon them, when a further, brutal tragedy strikes the Front. Sarah Price, a young nurse, is savagely murdered and Joseph vows to find the person responsible. Matthew, Joseph’s brother, is already at the Front to meet a prisoner who claims to be able to identify the shadowy Peacemaker, when he becomes implicated in the nurse’s death. If Matthew is to bring the prisoner to the office of the Prime Minister, he must work with Joseph to ensure that Sarah Price’s killer is found. If Matthew is able to put a stop to the Peacemaker’s schemes, there will be a chance for lasting peace; if he fails, then freedom and liberty could be all but a distant memory for future generations…

What readers are saying about We Shall Not Sleep:

This whole series is absolutely wonderful and has made me feel as though I was actually there

‘This is as good as the rest of the books in this five part series’

Anne Perry takes you right into the time and place. You are there, not just reading about it’

Purchase Securely Online

Purchase at Bookshop.org

Purchase at Amazon